David Bergen


David Bergen has published seven novels and a collection of short stories. His novels have been shortlisted for the IMPAC Literary Award and the Governor General’s Literary Award. In 2005 he won the Giller Prize for The Time in Between. He attempts to write five hundred words a day in a small office in the Exchange District in downtown Winnipeg.

Website: www.davidbergen.ca


1993 Finalist, Manitoba Book of the Year — Sitting Opposite My Brother

1996 John Hirsch AwardA Year of Lesser

1996 McNally Robinson Book of the Year Award — A Year of Lesser

1999 CBC Literary Award, Short StoryHow Can ‘N’ Men Share a Bottle of Vodka

2002 Short list, Governor General’s AwardThe Case of Lena S.

2002 Carol Shields Winnipeg Book Award — The Case of Lena S.

2005 Giller PrizeThe Time in Between

2005 McNally Robinson Book of the Year Award — The Time in Between

2007 Long list, International IMPAC Dublin Literary AwardThe Time in Between

2008 Long list, Giller PrizeThe Retreat

2008 McNally Robinson Book of the Year Award — The Retreat

2008 Margaret Laurence Award for Fiction — The Retreat

2010 Shortlist, Giller PrizeThe Matter With Morris

2010 Margaret Laurence Award for Fiction—The Matter with Morris

2010 Carol Shields Winnipeg Book Award—The Matter with Morris

2012 Shortlist, International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award—The Matter with Morris